Ellsworth - Romig

Located just south of the downtown core is the Ellsworth Neighborhood. The neighborhood was named after Henry L. Ellsworth, the first Commissioner of the U.S. Patent Office, and founder of the United States Department of Agriculture. Mr. Ellsworth also owned a great deal of land in Tippecanoe and surrounding counties and was very influential in the settling of this area. The district was placed on the National Register in 1986 and is comprised of the area from Fifth Street, to the old railroad corridor, Ninth and South Streets. Residences and commercial buildings date primarily from the 1850s to the 1920s.

Neighborhood attractions include the Red Crown Mini-Museum, the Tippecanoe County Public Library and the headquarters of the John Phillips Sousa Foundation.

Ellsworth - RomigEllsworth - Romig houses

Red CrownWinter Road

explore the Ellsworth—Romig Neighborhood’s Plaque Properties
name address built


Ahavas Achim Congregation—
Unitarian Universalist Fellowship
17 S. 7th Street 1867 1992
Falley—Lahr—McGrath—Wright House 601 New York Street 1864


Lauffer Apartments 717 South Street 1900


Palma—Lodde—Brutsman House 321 S. 7th Street 1910


Reifers Apartments 18 S. 4th Street 1906 1996
Reynolds—Schultz—Dillon House 517 Lingle Avenue 1890


Swezey—Rothrock—Dickinson House 605 Lingle Avenue 1919